Home

It is a Kingdom principle that fathers anoint and bless their children. The father-son relationship is the pipeline to spiritual blessing. How can the pipeline of blessing be restored with the rate of fatherlessness catastrophically high? Nothing can replace the blessing of a father but thankfully, God invites us to be a part of a larger family, a spiritual family.

We have many single moms trying to carry the spiritual load of a mother and father. I was blessed to have both parents in the home. Although, I never lacked physically, spiritually was a different story.

My mom was passionate about church and would have me in the church even if she had to drag me kicking and screaming. I know that it had to be hard on my mom especially when my dad did not share her passion for Christ. Despite her difficulties, she set a foundation for my spiritual growth that I am still building on today. Unfortunately, when I got older, I broke her heart by walking away from God, but God is always faithful. My dad and I are in the Kingdom now. Although I do not blame my dad for anything, I have often wondered where I would be spiritually if they were united in the battle of faith. Would I have struggled with sin for so long? What blessing was I missing by not having a strong spiritual leader? I don’t know and will never know, but I wonder.

In 2 Tim 1:5 Paul, writing to his spiritual son Timothy said, “when I call to remembrance the genuine faith that is in you, which dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice, and I am persuaded is in you also.” It’s interesting that Paul referred to Timothy’s grandmother and mother and not his father.  I am not a Biblical scholar, but I can only think of two reasons that Paul did not name Timothy’s father. Either, his father died earlier, before Paul could meet him or Timothy’s father was an unbeliever. In either case, it seems that Timothy grew up without a spiritual patriarch in his family and his mom carried the load.

Like millions of kids and me, Timothy was spiritually fatherless.  Paul taught him about Christ, the Holy Spirit, and even put him in charge of a church. As we can see through Paul’s letters, Paul treated Timothy more than a disciple he treated him as his “beloved and faithful son.” (1 Cor 4:17).

When Timothy entered into a father-son relationship with Paul, God unlocked his spiritual gifts. He did so through the laying on of hands and through prophecy. (1 Tim 4:14) God used Paul to activate the spiritual gifts that He had placed inside of Timothy. Good fathers have the ability to see inside of their sons and pull out the good that’s bubbling just beneath the surface ready to burst into the world.

Like Timothy, as we enter into relationships with the fathers of our community, God will activate those gifts that we have inside of us. The church needs our individual gifts; the world needs the light inside of us. Having a spiritual father in our lives, helps unleash the good that God has placed inside of us. It is clear that one of the purposes of relationship is to restore the anointing lost by the absence of a natural father.

Tim Rush

Leave a Reply

